Posted by: Idioma Extra | June 24, 2010

Thursday’s Tidbit


Idiomatic Pairs

From www.bbc.co.uk
 
peace and quiet: a period of quiet and calm, often with
  • It’s impossible to get any peace and quiet in this house with you two arguing all the time. 
grin and bear it: put up with something unpleasant because it cannot be changed
  • I know this hotel isn’t very good, but all the better accommodation is taken, so we’ll just have to grin and bear it
rant and rave: protest or complain in a loud and excited manner
  • He was ranting and raving about the price of everything in the store. 
here and there: to or in several places
  • I could see a number of houses scattered here and there over the hillside. 
now and again: occasionally
  • How often do you see her now? Every now and again. Not as regularly as I used to. 
first and foremost: most importantly
  • Why don’t you get a job that pays more? First and foremost because I really enjoy the job I’m doing. 
short and sweet: not too complicated, as in a speech, often with keep/make it
  • I’ll try and keep this short and sweet. I know you don’t want to stay here longer than you need to. 
safe and sound: not harmed at all
  • Oh, I’m so glad to have you back home safe and sound. I was beginning to get worried about you.  
on and on: without pausing or stopping, usually with go
  • You needn’t go on and on about needing a holiday. I know we haven’t had a break for over a year now. 
again and again: repeatedly
  • I’ve told you again and again to stop swearing in front of the children. 
little by little: gradually or slowly
  • Little by little his heath improved and he was able to walk further and further each day. 
all in all: taking everything into consideration
  • All in all, it was a successful vacation in spite of some scary moments. 
leaps and bounds: making rapid or spectacular progress
  • I feel that my English is coming on in leaps and bounds now that I can understand idioms.

 Test Yourself!

Complete the sentences with the correct idiom.

1. The details from last year’s project are coming to me __________________.
2. If you stay overtime at work, leave in a cab that way you can get home _____________________.
3. I love coming into work before anyone else, there is such ________________.
4. When writing the new job description keep it _______________________ and to the point.
5. _____________, I would like to thank you for your hard work and dedication. Then I would like to congratulate you on a job well done.
6. You keep repeating the procedure ________________, with no positive result. I think you should try a new one.

 Answers from the Last Tidbit

1. After dinner, we had amazing apple pie for dessert.
2. Don’s mother was happy when Don’s grade improved from failing to satisfactory.
3. A good principle  to live by is “Do to others what you would have them do to you.”
4. If we can’t go to the beach this weekend, what’s our alternative?


Leave a Reply

Categories

