Posted by: Idioma Extra | April 20, 2011

Thursday Tidbits


Too / Though / either

English learners may often hear native speaker finish sentences with too or either or though (pronounced with a long o sound, like go). Why do they sometimes finish their sentences with  these words? What do they mean? Let’s take a look:

Too

Too is used at the end of sentences to express in addition to or also. It is used when two positive are linked together. Positive in this sense means grammatically positive. Too is always used at the end of the second idea. For example,

My sister is going to the beach. My brother is going, too.

I broke my arm. I hurt my leg, too.

You are expected to wear a tie. You should bring a present, too.

Either

Either is used similarly to too, however it is used for grammatically negative sentences (can’t, won’t, shouldn’t, doesn’t, etc). It is always place at the end of the second idea. Examples,

I can’t go to the party. My friend can’t, either.

You shouldn’t drink beer. You shouldn’t drink wine, either.

He doesn’t play soccer. He doesn’t play baseball, either.

Though

Though is used when two ideas are contrasting (positive / negative or negative / positive). Positive and negative here doesn’t mean grammatically positive or negative, but rather what the speaker views as positive or negative. Though is also placed at the end of the sentence, just like too. For example,

Costa Rica is beautiful. (positive) It can be expensive in some places, though. (negative)

I feel sick. (negative) I’m going to the party, though. (positive)

The meeting starts at 8pm. (positive) I’m going to be late, though. (negative)

Check yourself

 Complete the following sentences with either too, though or either.

1. They always go to the park. They like to swim, __________.

2. I like to go to the beach. I don’t know how to swim, ___________.

3. My co-workers are very friendly. They have a lot of experience, ______________.

4. They didn’t go to the beach. They didn’t go to the mountains, ______________.

5. My homework is very difficult. The other students are having problems, ___________.

6. I hurt my arm playing basketball. I didn’t go to the hospital, ____________.

7. He never gives money to strangers. He doesn’t speak to them, ___________.

8. She starts work early. She doesn’t work late, _____________.

9. He can’t find a job. It’s difficult to pay the rent, __________.

10. They never take a vacation. They never leave the house, ______________.

 Answers to last week’s Check Yourself

Now look at the following sentences and decide which is the correct auxiliary or verb.

1. The boss (isn’t / doesn’t) certain if the company will move next year.

2. Surprisingly, he (wasn’t / didn’t) feel sick after eating so much food.

3. The perfume (doesn’t / isn’t) smell very good.

4. A few people win the lottery, but the majority (don’t / aren’t) lucky.

5. I think he is coming, but I (am not / don’t) sure.

6. Unfortunately, he (wasn’t / didn’t) save the information.

7. She (isn’t / doesn’t) too worried about presentation.

8. It (don’t / isn’t) true what he said.

9. Most people (aren’t / don’t) care about international problems.

10. I usually (am not / don’t) worry about health problems.

11. My muscles (aren’t / don’t) sore after doing exercise.

Leave a Reply

Categories

