Posted by: Idioma Extra | May 18, 2011

Thursday Tidbit


-Ed or –ing participles?

Many English learners have problems with participles as adjectives. For example, are you interested or interesting in something? Was the vacation excited or exciting? The following is an explanation of when to use either –ed or –ing:

ed

-ed participles are used when the speaker is expressing his or her feelings about something, for example:

He was pleased with the results.

She is embarrassed about what she said.

The students are bored by the presentation.

ing

-ing participles are used to describe something you observe or experience, for example:

The vacation was exhausting.

His explanation is confusing.

The movie was entertaining.

 Check Yourself

Write the correct form of the participle in the spaces below.

1.  My bath was ________________.  I feel ________________ now.  (relax)

2.  Joe is _____________ because he had a _______________ day.  (tire)

3.  The mouse was ______________ by the trap.  How to get the cheese was ______________.  (confuse)

4.  The amount of homework was ___________________.  The student felt ______________.  (overwhelm)

5.  Your jokes are _______________.  I am _________________. (amuse)

6.  I was so _______________ by the movie.  Some of the scenes were very ______________. (touch)

7.  The TV program was _____________.  I felt _____________ watching it.

8.  My father got angry.  My father’s words were _________________.  I got ____________.  (upset)

9.  The nurse came in with a big needle.  It was _______________.  I felt _______________ when she started walking towards me. (frighten)

10.  Ted forgot to zip his zipper.  It was so ________________.  He felt very ________________.  (embarrass)

 Answers to last week’s Check Yourself.

 1. I bought some interesting souvenirs (for / to) my father.

2. I have taught English (for / to) students for many years.

3. I cleaned the apartment (for / to) my roommate because he was on vacation.

4. I brought some interesting pictures (for / to) my class.

5. We rented a car (for / to) my mother who was visiting.

6. We needed to explain the situation (for / to) the boss.

7. We ran very fast (for / to) the store.

8. I paid the bill (for / to) her.

9. We rented the apartment (for / to) some university students.

10. I went to the meeting (for / to) my co-worker because he was sick.


Leave a Reply

Categories

