Posted by: Idioma Extra | June 22, 2011

Thursaday Tidbits


Often confusing nouns, adjectives, and verbs

There are some particular words in English that often get confused between the noun, adjective, and verb form.

Die / dead / death

“Die” is the verb / the action. It is never followed by an object. The past tense is formed by simply adding “d.” Here are some examples:

I don’t want to die.

My dog died.

 “Dead” is the adjective / the description. It is always either used with “be” or before a noun. Here are some examples:

There are dead trees in my yard.

The trees in my yard are dead.

 “Death” is the noun / the idea. Here are a few examples:

People don’t like to talk about death.

Death is all around us.

Lose / lost / loss

“Lose” is the verb / the action. It may or may not be followed by an object. Here are some examples:

We lost the game.

They lost the bid for the proposal.

“Lost” can be the past tense of “lose” or as an adjective. Here are some examples:

I lost my watch.

I’m looking for my lost dog.

 “Loss” is the noun / the idea.  Here are some examples:

We suffered a terrible loss.

He has a lot of blood loss.

Sell / sold / sale

“Sell” is the verb / the action. It must be followed by an object. Here are some examples:

We had to sell our house.

How much will you sell your computer for?

 “Sold” is the past tense form of “sell” or as an adjective. Here are some examples:

Yesterday he sold his car.

The property is already sold.

“Sale” is the noun / the idea. Here are some examples:

They are having a sale tomorrow.

I spent too much money at the garage sale.

Check yourself

Underline the correct form of the word to complete the sentence.

1. He hates to (lost / lose) to anyone at anything.

2. Walmart is having a big (sale / sell) today.

3. My grandfather (dead / died) many years ago.

4. We need to (sale / sell) our car ASAP!

5. It looks like the fire is (dead / died).

6. The team suffered a humiliating (lost / loss).

7. Our pastor often talked about (dead / death) in church.

8. I asked him to (sold / sell) it at a lower price.

9. I got completely (lose / lost) in the forest.

10. It is difficult to lift because it is (dead / death) weight.

Answer’s to last week’s Check Yourself.

1. The grocery store by my house used to close at 7pm, but now they are open until 9pm. _PA_

2. I got lost because I took a different bus home today. I am used to taking a different bus route. _H_

3. I am used to wearing jeans to class every day when I was in high school. _PA_

4. Did you used to wear a tie at your previous job? _PA_

5. I felt uncomfortable at the party because I am not used to being around so many people. _H_

6. I used to bringing a lunch to work, but now I go to the food court for lunch. _PA_

7. I’m having problems understanding the Microsoft Office 2007 functions because I am used to using the 2003 format. _H_

8.  We used to be able to wear jeans to the office on Fridays, but the company changed the policy. _PA_


Leave a Reply

Categories

