Posted by: Idioma Extra | January 1, 2014

Grammar Guru


Word order

EnglishGrammar

Most English sentences (clauses) conform to the SVO word order. This means that the Subject comes before the Verb, which comes before the Object. Examples:

  • (S) bought (V) a new computer (O).
  • She (S) doesn’t like (V) dogs (O).
  • Why did you (S) do (V) that (O)?

It is more complicated when an indirect object (I) is added to the sentence. In this case the word order depends a.) on whether the direct and indirect objects are nouns or pronouns, and b.) on whether the indirect object is preceded by the word to. Here are the basic rules:

 

Indirect object with to:
· Two nouns
· Two pronouns
· Pronoun object/noun indirect object
SVOI I showed the computer to my friends.
I showed it to them.
I showed it to my friends.
She gave the present to her mother.
She gave it to her.
She gave it to her mother.
Indirect object without to:
· Two nouns
· Two pronouns
· Noun object/pronoun indirect object
SVI0 I showed my friends the computer.
I showed them it.
I showed them the computer
She gave her mother the present.
She gave her it.
She gave her the present.

 

Great! Now take the Word Order Quiz Here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

