Posted by: Idioma Extra | January 22, 2015

Grammar Guru


Idioms using numbers

Black and white numbers background

Idioms are one of the hardest things to understand and learn in a non-native language, but they are also what help speakers sound more natural. Check out just a few of the English idioms that revolve around numbers.

First-rate- of the best class or quality; excellent.

“There’s not question that Company X is a first-rate company with first-rate products.”

Second nature- a characteristic or habit in someone that appears to be instinctive because that person has behaved in a particular way so often.

“After a while, speaking Japanese became second nature to me and I didn’t have to translate into English!.

Third degree- long and harsh questioning, especially by police, to obtain information or a confession. 

“My wife gave me the third degree when I came home late last night! She didn’t believe me when I told her that I fell asleep at the office.”

Six feet under- dead and buried.

“They put him six feet under two days after he died.”

Seventh heaven- a state of extreme joy.

“I was in seventh heaven when I saw that Friends was on Netflix! Now I can watch all weekend and not leave my house!”

 

Now, take a short comprehension quiz to check your understanding!

Can you think of other ways to use these idioms? Tell us in the comments below!


Leave a Reply

Categories

